HOW EXACTLY DO SHIELD REACTIONS WORK?

Chopper
Visitor
2 months ago

One of the aspects of Solasta combat that I like is those shield reactions that allow you to block the incoming attack somehow. One thing I don't understand is what are the rules for them to happen. I.E. I have a mage (stock) who sometimes gives me that prompt and it works as intended. Other times she just gets hit. I also have a rogue shadow caster who has both shield and uncanny dodge. Before he got the uncanny dodge, he was getting shield prompts once in a while, similar to the mage. Now he only gets uncanny dodge prompts. What are the rules for those reactions to be available?

Steve
Level 8
2 months ago

I think if you have the Shield spell memorized and a spell slot available to cast it AND the +5 AC would be enough to prevent the hit, you will get the prompt but if the attack would hit even with the +5 AC, then there is no prompt because there is no point wasting the spell if it's not enough AC to stop the attack anyway.

I could be wrong but that's how I thought it worked.

Quesci
Level 6
2 months ago

That's correct. If casting the Shield spell won't block the hit, then you aren't even given the option. I like that, since you don't have to compare the roll to your current AC and decide to use the Shield or not. If you get the popup, you only have to decide if it's worth burning the spell slot.

Skryia
Level 13
2 months ago

There do seem to be bugs in the reaction system right now. Shadowcaster Rogues and Spellblade Fighters that have taken the Twin Blades feat never get allowed to use it if they have a free spell slot, this is especially galling on the Spellblade as they don‘t get the Shield spell). And like the OP, I’m pretty sure I’ve seen the game offer me the chance to use Uncanny Dodge on an attack vs my Shadowcaster when I could have used Shield to avoid the attack.

Quesci
Level 6
2 months ago (edited)

There do seem to be bugs in the reaction system right now. Shadowcaster Rogues and Spellblade Fighters that have taken the Twin Blades feat never get allowed to use it if they have a free spell slot, this is especially galling on the Spellblade as they don‘t get the Shield spell). And like the OP, I’m pretty sure I’ve seen the game offer me the chance to use Uncanny Dodge on an attack vs my Shadowcaster when I could have used Shield to avoid the attack.

My question is, do your characters have items in both hands? Shield has Somatic components, so if your hands are full you can't cast it. Since you mention Twin Blades, I'm assuming you are dual wielding weapons. Try it with a single two-handed weapon and you should have no problem.

If you want your dual wielders to be able to cast shield you can turn of the requirements for Somatic components in the settings.

Skryia
Level 13
2 months ago

I am well aware of the rules on somatic components, and that is not the issue I am talking about. The Twin Blade feat does not work (it is supposed to let you use your reaction to get +3 AC vs a melee attack) if you are a Spellblade or Shadowcaster and you have a free spell slot. There are other times wherein my Shadowcaster, using her bow (so somatic not an issue) was attacked by a roll that was within 4 of her AC, knows the Shield spell, and has a free spell slot, and the game offers uncanny dodge to reduce the damage rather than casting Shield to eliminate the damage. While there are occasions wherein the Shield spell reaction is offered, it is not offered 100% of the time when it should be. Hence my belief that the reaction system has some bugs if you have a character that the game thinks has multiple reaction options. The poor Spellblade doesn’t get to use their reaction to use twin blade when they have a spell slot and that’s especially bad given that a spellblade can’t even learn the Shield spell (unless multiclass shenanigans). If you use all of the Spellblade’s spell slots, twin blade suddenly works. So somethjng is  wrong in reaction-land.