I've been having trouble figuring out the right way to rule this for my scimitar wielding druid, but now I'm also DMing for a cleric and a paladin, both wielding a shield in one hand and a weapon in the other... How do I approach this?
As far as I know, their shield can have their holy symbol embedded in it, allowing them to casts spells with material components while wielding it with a weapon, but somatic components however, require a free hand.
I usually allow them to drop their weapon as a free action and app linked pick it up again after casting as an item interaction, which I think doesn't break any rules, but (at least for me) breaks some of the immersion to favour the game's mechanics and also makes the War Caster feat less effective.
How do you usually handle this?
Steam profile : https://steamcommunity.com/id/baraz/