Divine Sense (Paladin) triggers combat (should not)

Baraz
Level 12
Steam Link Newsletter Link Kickstarter Backer Weaponsmith (Bronze)
3 months ago (edited)

Yesterday, my Paladin was in stealth and trying to use Divine Sense (60 feet) to look at certain humans (avoiding spoilers).

Using this feature, which is not a spell, is silent, etc. somehow always triggered combat. 

My characters can cast spells and remain in Cautious mode / stealth, yet Divine Sense triggers combat. 

It has no casting and should be a somewhat "subtle" effect, especially when used 35 feet away hidden

nb : it could be a bug or not, so I am mentioning this issue in the "game mechanics" forum.  I do not think it is exploitable that a player think about using this feature once in a while before a fight.  Currently, it not only triggers the combat, but also burns my first action.  I suggest it be like many spells that can be used without triggering the enemies. 


Steam profile : https://steamcommunity.com/id/baraz/

Baraz
Level 12
Steam Link Newsletter Link Kickstarter Backer Weaponsmith (Bronze)
3 months ago

Nuance : it does not trigger combat if you have no line of sight when you use it. 

It does not seem to break stealth as such. 

I will test it some more and report back. 


Steam profile : https://steamcommunity.com/id/baraz/

Baraz
Level 12
Steam Link Newsletter Link Kickstarter Backer Weaponsmith (Bronze)
3 months ago (edited)

Did a few tests with a quicksave just near enemies. 

I can confirm that : 

  • if I have a line of sight and range for Divine Sense, using it triggers Combat automatically ;
  • I remain in stealth/Cautious mode and succeed the Stealth check, but still triggers combat automatically. 

Theory : the visual animation of Divine Sense seems or looks like it triggers a form of detection (though I remain stealthed) and/or is considered a combat action. 

Suggestion : it really should not, in my opinion. 


Steam profile : https://steamcommunity.com/id/baraz/

Trent
Level 4
3 months ago

By the same token, if you use hunters mark while in stealth, it starts combat and doesn't allow you to attack with that character on the surprise round. However if you attack to start combat, you can then use your hunters mark bonus action. However if you already have hunters mark active, you can move it to a new enemy without starting combat and then attack, and then move your hunters mark as a bonus action.


I'm not sure if this all follows with 5e rules or not.

Baraz
Level 12
Steam Link Newsletter Link Kickstarter Backer Weaponsmith (Bronze)
3 months ago (edited)

In my reading, re-applying the Hunter's Mark (when it was cast during a previous fight) could/should be silent, so I like the implementation here. 

But losing your Action on the surprise round for casting a Bonus Action spell seems like a bug for the reason you explain...

EDIT : I tested it and I also confirm that the Bonus Action Hunter's Mark when surprising enemies blocks out the Action during that same surprise round.


Steam profile : https://steamcommunity.com/id/baraz/