Can't Memorize More Than One Copy Of A Spell?

1 year ago

Hi.  I just picked up Solasta this weekend and wanted to prepare two copies of Color Spray, but it would only let me.  Is this a D&D 5e restriction or the game?  In Pathfinder I'm able to memorize multiple copies of a spell both in tabletop and in the crpg Pathfinder: Kingmaker.

I'm fully expecting I'm doing something wrong but thought I would post it here to know for sure.

Thanks,

Will


Will

ovelteen
Level 7
1 year ago


you can cast a spell multiple times, but you only have to prepare it once.

Dominemesis
Level 3
1 year ago

That's a difference in 5E from Pathfinder and 3.5.  You don't need to memorize a spell for each time you want to cast it anymore.  Memorize it once, and you can cast anything you have memorized as many times as you have a spell slot of at least the level the spell requires.  

the_glimpse
Level 10
1 year ago

Yep, and several spells you can upcast, using a higher level spell slot to make it more effective or damaging.


-Glimpse

1 year ago

Ahhhh... I get it.  prep the spells you want to use but cast anything until your spell slots are used.  Thanks a bunch.  I only started the game yesterday and it confused me.  Thanks!!!


Will