Advantage + disadvantage different from rules as written

2 weeks ago

The Basic Rules state

If circumstances cause a roll to have both advantage and disadvantage, you are considered to have neither of them, and you roll one d20. This is true even if multiple circumstances impose disadvantage and only one grants advantage or vice versa. In such a situation, you have neither advantage nor disadvantage.

Solasta instead counts each instance and applies whichever is greater. I noticed this when a restrained enemy attacked my prone, restrained character. It had net advantage on the roll.

mrfuji3
Level 7
2 weeks ago

I'll voice my support for leaving that mechanic in, incorrect as it may be. I like the idea of having both an advantage & disadvantage, and then using Faerie Fire (or knocking the enemy prone, etc) to still get a net advantage.

A toggle option would be cool, defaulting to RAW.